Jul 25, 2010

Congratulations, Jonni & Hank!

Congratulations to one of my favorite bloggers, Jonni Jewell from Trot on Hank, for completing the famed Tevis Cup Ride. Jonni started her blog in July of 2008, documenting her horse Hank's recovery from colic surgery. They went on to have an awesome CTR year in 2009 and mentioned wanting to return to the Tevis Cup this year. They did and they finished. It's been quite a ride for her, in more ways than one, and I'm very excited for the Jonni/Hank team. I can't wait until her blog is updated with information on their ride.

The Tevis Cup, 100 Miles One Day Trail Ride, was started in 1955. I've always had a fascination with this ride, so much so, that I invited famed rider Julie Suhr, author of Ten Feet Tall Still, to speak at the Nebraska Horse Expo a few years ago. She was every bit the rider and woman I thought she would be and I am still in awe at her accomplishments. Actually, of all the woman who work toward completing this ride. I may be sexist by calling out women in particular, but in horses, I have learned that this is one sport that women can compete side by side with the other gender and reach just as high of goals.

The following information was taken from the Tevis website.

About the Tevis Cup Ride

The Western States Trail Ride, popularly called the Tevis Cup Ride, is the oldest modern day endurance ride, having been held annually since 1955. As such, it has been the inspiration and model for the most challenging endurance rides worldwide.

The ride was first organized by Wendell Robie, an Auburn businessman and devoted rider of the Sierra high country. Many people in the 50s doubted that any modern-day horse could cover the rugged trail from Lake Tahoe to Auburn in a single day. Wendell and a few of his friends proved them wrong in August of 1955. He continued to hold the ride annually thereafter and organized the Western States Trail Foundation to preserve the 100 mile trail and the Ride.

The Ride is sanctioned by AERC, the American Endurance Ride Conference.

Each rider who completes the 100 mile course from Tahoe to Auburn within the 24 hour limit and whose mount is judged "fit to continue" is awarded the coveted silver Completion Award Buckle.

The Tevis Cup trophy is awarded to the person who completes the 100-Mile One-Day course in the shortest amount of time and whose horse is in sound condition and "fit to continue." The Tevis Cup was named for Lloyd Tevis (1824 - 1899) by his grandson Will Tevis, a prominent San Francisco businessman and early benefactor of the Ride, and was first awarded in 1959 to Nick Mansfield, riding Buffalo Bill, an eleven year old TB Cross gelding.

The other major trophy, the Haggin Cup, is awarded to the rider whose horse is in the "most superior physical condition" of the first ten horses to cross the finish line. The Haggin Cup, named for James Ben Ali Haggin (1821 - 1914), was first awarded in 1964 to Paige Harper, riding his six year old Arabian gelding, Keno.

The Josephine Stedem Scripps Foundation Cup was established in 1994 to recognize each of the finishing Junior Riders for their special achievement. The first Junior finisher was David Jay, Jr., who completed the 3rd annual Ride in 1957.


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. Well done Jonni and Hank!!!! Followed the ride on the Tevis webcast Great!!!!

  3. I have a friend who completed this ride a couple of years back. It's the goal of a lot of endurance riders to someday ride Tevis.

    Congratulations to Jonni & Hank!

  4. SO excellent!
    That is amazing~ well done to them!

  5. Wow. What an accomplishment.

    Is that ride on your Bucket List?

  6. @Mindy... another time in my life, it certainly would have been. I would like to ride a 50 miler sometime...


I am so glad you stopped by and look forward to hearing from you! Do come again.